AAC Announces 2013 McNeill-Nott Awards

3/19/13 - The American Alpine Club has announced the 2013 McNeill-Nott Award recipients. Sixteen applications were accepted, but only three teams won grants:

—Pete Dronkers, Jonathan Crabtree: Their objective is the South Pillar of Lowell Peak, St. Elias Range, Canada.
—Jewell Lund, Kyle Dempster: The team plans to climb Bublimotin (aka Ladyfinger Peak) on the southwest ridge of the Ultar Sar Massif above the Hunza Valley, Pakistan.
—Chris Wright, Geoff Unger: They will attempt the Northeast Pillar or the unclimbed East Ridge on Ripimo Shar, Rolwaling Himal, Nepal.

The McNeill-Nott Award was founded by the AAC and Mountain Hardwear after the death of Sue Nott and Karen McNeill died on Alaska's Mt. Foraker in 2006. From the AAC: "The McNeill-Nott Award seeks to preserve the memory and spirit of these two talented and courageous climbers by giving grants to amateur climbers exploring new routes or unclimbed peaks with small and lightweight teams. During the selection process, special attention is given to projects with strong exploratory and adventuresome mountaineering components. Technical difficulty is not weighed as strongly."

For more information on AAC grants, please visit the American Alpine Club website.


Previous Comments

I am sure Sue and Karen would love to see some all weman team gets the award.

r2d2 - 03/22/2013 1:50:58

If you wanna be a real climber, go do it without grant support and man then come back with feeling inside and not have to brag. no money. this is not the way. these grants is a way for sell out. lose soul. climbing spirit dead.

Panji - 03/22/2013 1:46:20

This has been happening for a very long time...grant money being awarded to professionals that is meant for amateurs. Anyways, the guy has a job!

Michael Jackson - 03/22/2013 1:43:19

Is Kyle Dempster considered an "AMATEUR"? Seriously? "The McNeill-Nott Award ... grants to amateur climbers exploring new routes or unclimbed peaks..."

Jane - 03/22/2013 1:32:10