Americans Shine at Vail World Cup

Last year's Vail winner, Alex Johnson, swings into the silver medal spot this year. Photo by John Evans /

Alex Puccio takes the gold at the 2009 Vail World Cup. Photo by John Evans /

American boulderers dominated the second annual Vail World Cup at the Teva Mountain Games on June 5-6. Alex Puccio and Alex Johnson took gold and silver in the women’s competition, and three U.S. men finished in the top five, including Daniel Woods in second. Paul Robinson was fourth among the men, and Californian Kyle Owen was fifth. 

Although some European and Asian competitors did not make the trip to Colorado, more than 20 countries were represented and the top boulderers all were there, chasing points for the 2009 World Cup standings. The top four men in the World Cup ranking made the finals in Vail, including gold medalist Jonas Baumann from Germany. Five of the top six women boulderers also competed in Vail, with World Cup leader Akiyo Noguchi having to settle for a bronze medal. 

Daniel Woods secured a second place finish this year. Photo by John Evans /

Kilian Fischhuber, last year's Vail winner, grabs third place. Photo by John Evans /

This was the fourth World Cup out of five on the 2009 calendar. Few North American boulderers are competing in Europe or Asia this year, but Canadian Sean McColl, who did not climb in Vail, is in eighth place in the standings, thanks to a silver-medal performance in Vienna, Austria, last weekend. Daniel Woods, who placed 10th in a World Cup in Austria on May 1 and second in Vail, is in ninth position overall. 

Vail World Cup — June 5-6, 2009 

Women’s Results

1. Alex Puccio (USA)

2. Alex Johnson (USA)

3. Akiyo Noguchi (JAP)

4. Anna Stöhr (AUT)

5. Jain Kim (KOR)

6. Natalija Gros (SLO)

7. Maud Ansade (FRA)

8. Tiffany Hensley (USA)

9. Chloé Graftiaux (BEL)

10. Therese Johannesen (NOR) 

Photo by John Evans /

Photo by John Evans /

Men’s Results

1. Jonas Baumann (GER)

2. Daniel Woods (USA)

3. Kilian Fischhuber (AUT)

4. Paul Robinson (USA)

5. Kyle Owen (USA)

6. Rustam Gelmanov (RUS)

7. Guillaume Glairon Mondet (FRA)

8. Tsukuru Hori (JAP)

9. Gabriele Moroni (ITA)

10. Loic Gaidioz (FRA) 


Comment on this story



No comments yet - you should start the discussion!