2011 Copp-Dash Inspire Award Winners Announced


5/4/11 - Winners of the 2011 Copp-Dash Inspire Awards have been announced. In its second year, the Copp-Dash grant was established in memory of Jonny Copp and Micah Dash, who were killed (along with filmmaker Wade Johnson) in an avalanche in China in May 2009.

Winners include:

• Dave Burdick, Dylan Johnson, and John Freih for a new mixed line on the 1,100-meter south face of Mt. Burkett, Stikine Icecap, Alaska.

• Jesse Spaulding, Kyle Kneely, Scott Parker, and Conrad Piper-Ruth for new routes up to 6,000 meters in the Nangma Valley, Pakistan.

• Kyle Dempster and Jewell Lund for first ascents in the Karavshin Valley, Krgyzstan; then first ascents of the southwest pillar of K7 west and east face of K7 main, Karakorum Mountains, Pakistan.

• Matt McCormick, Pat Goodman, and Will Meinen for first ascents of the southwest pillar of K7 West and an alpine-style first ascent of a major sub-summit of K7 West, Nepal.

• Mike Libeckie for a solo attempt of the first ascent of The Ibex Horn, central Afganistan.

About the Copp-Dash Inspire Award - The Copp-Dash Inspire Award has been formed to support climbers who choose to follow a similar path, both in life and in the mountains. The fund’s goal is to assist climbers before, during and after expeditions with financial grants and multimedia instruction to help empower them to share their current and future adventures with a wider audience.Sponsored by Black Diamond Equipment, La Sportiva, Mountain Hardwear and Patagonia, and with in-kind support from Adventure Film Festival, Alpinist Magazine, American Alpine Club, Sender Films, and the Jonny Copp Foundation, the Copp-Dash Inspire Award will help support small teams tackling difficult climbs in the great mountains of the world who plan to personally document and share their ascents through a multimedia blend of storytelling elements.

For more on the grants, visit americanalpineclub.org.