Arco Rock Legends Nominees Announced

The Arco Rock Legends Award. Photo by Torsten Wenzler

The Arco Rock Legends Award. Photo by Torsten Wenzler

News Link: Nominees have been announced for the Arco Rock Legends competition, which will have its fifth annual competition on Saturday, July 17 in Arco (Garda Trentino, Italy). The group has two awards to give out: the Salewa Rock Award and the La Sportiva Competition Award. The climbers are nominated by 23 international climbing magazines; the Salewa Rock Award recognizes superb sport climbing and bouldering performances and unique style, while the La Sportiva Award goes to the climber who left the most distinguished, positive mark on the competition circuit during the last season.

Five athletes have been selected for the Salewa Rock Award:

  • Charlotte Durif – 20-year-old Frenchwoman who has onsighted 5.14s

  • Enzo Oddo – 15-year-old French climber crushing 5.14s

  • Adam Ondra – 2008’s winner, the Czech teenage phenomenon

  • Chris Sharma – last year’s winner, and the “king of climbing”

  • Daniel Woods – an American climber up for his second nomination

For the La Sportiva Competition Award, the nominees are:

  • Adam Ondra

  • Joanna Ernst – Lead World Champion from Austria and a second-time nominee

  • Akiyo Noguchi – Japanese climber and 2009 Bouldering World Cup winner

This year’s competition was moved up in anticipation of the IFSC World Championship scheduled to take place in Arco in 2011.