Charlie Fowler Honored by AAC

Heading out the door? Read this article on the new Outside+ app available now on iOS devices for members! Download the app.

Charlie Fowler received the American Alpine Club’s Robert and Miriam Underhill Award, the club’s highest honor for climbing achievement, at the AAC’s annual meeting in Las Vegas on February 28. The Coloradan has been pioneering hard rock, ice and mountain climbs since the mid-1970s, with many ascents in Patagonia, the Alps, Peru, Nepal and Tibet, along with hundreds of routes in Colorado and Utah. The AAC gave its Robert Hicks Bates Award for outstanding young climbers to Dave Graham; the David R. Brower Award for conservation to Mike Lewis; the Literary Award to writer Mark Jenkins; and the Angelo Heilprin Citation for service to the club to Greg Sievers. The AAC also added three new honorary members to its ranks: Everest pioneers Tom Hornbein and Jim Whittaker, as well as British climber and longtime UIAA president Ian McNaught-Davis, who gave a keynote slideshow at the meeting on the first ascent of Mustagh Tower in 1956.

Film: How Matt Cornell Free Soloed One of America’s Classic Hard Mixed Routes

"The Nutcracker" explores the mental challenges of solo climbing and the tactics Cornell used to help him send the route.