Four Teams Win AAC Spitzer Awards


1/9/12 - The American Alpine Club has announced the winner's of this year's Lyman Spitzer Cutting Edge Awards for attempts on extremely difficult new routes in the Karakoram and Himalaya.

The 2013 grant-recipient teams are: • Doug Chabot, Bruce Miller, and Rusty Willis, for the previously unattempted north face of Shispare Sar, Pakistan. • Jesse Huey, Raphael Slawinski, and Ian Welsted, attempting the first ascent of the west face of K6 West, Pakistan. • Chad Kellogg and David Gottlieb, who will attempt Lunag Ri (22,621'), the highest permitted unclimbed peak in Nepal. • Matt McCormick, Pat Goodman, and Jean-Pierre Ouellet, aiming for a new route on the east face of Uli Biaho Tower in Pakistan.

Spitzer Awards promote state-of-the-art, cutting-edge climbs through financial support of small, lightweight climbing teams. The AAC sponsors or manages more than a dozen grant programs in all, including Mountaineering Fellowships for young climbers and Live Your Dream grants for average climbers of all kinds. Visit the AAC grants page to learn more. Applications for most grant programs are due by March 1.