Innovative outdoor products will be honored with the OutDoor INDUSTRY AWARD for the fifth year running.


4/21/10 - Manufacturers and designers are invited to enter their products online in this year’s OutDoor INDUSTRY AWARD competition up until June 15, 2010 (close of registration). The competition, which is hosted by Messe Friedrichshafen and organized by iF, has meanwhile established a solid reputation as a symbol of quality in this industry.

Products can be entered in the OutDoor INDUSTRY AWARD 2010 competition in nine different categories:

1. Apparel/helmets/shoes 2. Backpacks/travel luggage 3. Mountain-climbing equipment 4. Camping equipment 5. Sleeping bags 6. Accessories 7. Products of high ecological and recyclable value 8. Material innovations 9. Concepts (restricted to students who can submit experimental drafts of yet to be realized products and studies free of charge.)

As in previous years, an international jury of experts will judge the entries this year to determine the winners of the OutDoor INDUSTRY AWARD and to select the winners of the GOLD awards. The jurors will rate the entries, among other things, on the degree of innovation, design quality, workmanship, choice of materials, environmental compatibility, sustainability, functionality, utility, safety, trendsetting character and brand value/branding.

The experts will make their final decisions during the jury session on July 1, 2010: Mark Held (European Outdoor Group, Zug/Switzerland), Martin Lotti (Nike Inc. Beaverton/USA), Mikko Lamminpää (RETKI Outdoor Magazine, Tuusula/Finland), Boris Gnielka (Outdoor Magazine, Stuttgart/Germany), Christian Weiss (Transa Backpacking AG, Zurich/Switzerland), and Chris Townsend (TGO Magazine, Grantown on Spey/Great Britain) will select the winners.

The Awards Ceremony for the OutDoor INDUSTRY AWARD 2010 will take place during the OutDoor Show in Friedrichshafen (July 15 to 18, 2010) in Hall A2 on July 15 at 5:30 p.m. All of the winning products will be on display in Foyer West at the OutDoor Show.

The “OutDoor Celebrity of the Year” – a personality who has made a special contribution to the topic of the outdoors – will also be selected once again this year. The winner of this honor is selected by a panel of top international trade journalists and industry representatives. The managing directors of Globetrotter, Andreas Bartmann and Thomas Lipke, were awarded this prize in 2009.

Online registration and further information is available at (organized by iF).