U.S. Youth Climbing Team Chosen

Heading out the door? Read this article on the new Outside+ app available now on iOS devices for members! Download the app.


U.S. Youth Climbing Team Chosen

The 2008 U.S. Youth Climbing Team for lead and speed climbing was finalized July 13 at the Youth National Championships in Sunnyvale, California. U.S. team members from the three oldest age groups, as well as reigning continental champions, are invited to the 2008 IFSC Youth World Championship in Sydney, Australia, at the end of August.

More than 300 climbers under age 19 competed at the Planet Granite gym July 11–13. The invite-only championship drew from five divisional championships of the Sport Climbing Series held in June.

See www.scsnationals.org for the full results, including the speed competition winners and U.S. team members in younger age groups.

2008 U.S. Youth Climbing Team

Female Junior

1. Elizabeth Broun

2. Audrey Gawrych

3. Kirky Olsen

4. Elise Ebner

Male Junior

1. Mike Foley

2. Ryan Sewell

3. Scott Cory

4. Alex Alderson

Female Youth A

1. Tiffany Hensley

2. Marah Bragdon

3. Sasha DiGiulian

4. Chauncenia Cox

5. Jesse Youngwerth

Male Youth A

1. Ben Hoberg

2. Michael Bautista

3. Brian Antheunisse

4. Cody Jones

Female Youth B

1. Shannon Lochridge

2. Michaela Kiersch

3. Audrey Hsu

4. Cicada Jenerik

Male Youth B

1. Julian Bautista

2. Joshua Levin

3. Colin Bauer

4. Owen Graham

5. Charlie Andrews

Comment on this story

Trending on Climbing

Film: How Matt Cornell Free Soloed One of America’s Classic Hard Mixed Routes

"The Nutcracker" explores the mental challenges of solo climbing and the tactics Cornell used to help him send the route.