WINDSTOPPER Presents The 2007 REEL ROCK Film Tour - Climbing Magazine

WINDSTOPPER Presents The 2007 REEL ROCK Film Tour

Author:
Publish date:
WINDSTOPPER Presents The 2007 REEL ROCK Film Tour

September – October 2007 — The NEW FilmKING LINES — Chris Sharma's Search for the Planet's Greatest Climbs

CLICK HERE TO LAUNCH The KING LINES Trailer (20.4 MB)(Once open, please feel free to continue navigating our site)

Click Here for the Tour Schedule

The 2007 REEL ROCK Film Tour hits over 60 locations across the U.S., Canada and Europe in September and October.

REEL ROCK 2007 will feature KING LINES, the new movie and first-time collaboration by Sender Films and Big UP Productions. Sharma will make appearances at several major REEL ROCK shows in 2007.

KING LINES documents Sharma's groundbreaking ascent of Es Pontas in Mallorca, the most difficult deep water solo in the world. Also included in the film: Bishop highballs, new French 9a+ sport climbs, Zion free climbing, Chris’ futuristic Mt. Clark super project and a bouldering adventure in the Venezuelan jungle.

For more on the film and tour go to www.reelrocktour.com

Click here to buy now from MountainGear.com

Es Pontas Silhouette.

Es Pontas Silhouette.

REEL ROCK PEOPLE

THE TALENT — CHRIS SHARMA

At age 25, this Santa Cruz, California native has already dominated his sport for over a decade. In 2001, Sharma was the first to climb Realization, in France, an accomplishment that broke the elusive 5.15 rating barrier. He then spent several years focused on bouldering, a time in which he discovered and established some of the world's hardest boulder problems. Currently, Sharma is on a renewed quest to find and climb the planet's most difficult, beautiful, and improbable routes. In 2006, he made his most spectacular climb yet: a 60-foot tall rock arch rising from the Mediterranean Sea off the coast of Mallorca, Spain. Climbing without a rope, Sharma took over 100 falls into the water from heights of up to 50 feet before succeeding on Es Pontas.

His mind-blowing first ascent of Es Pontas is one of the highlights of the new film, King Lines. In the summers, Sharma runs a series of camps for children, and he started The Sharma Fund to introduce climbing to underprivileged youngsters ages 11 to 18.

Sharma has been featured in Outside Magazine, Rolling Stone, Sports Illustrated, Esquire, Men's Journal, GQ, National Geographic Adventure, ESPN Magazine, Men's Health, The New York Times Magazine, The LA Times Magazine, and many more publications. He has appeared on television in ESPN's X-Games, NBC's Jeep World of Adventure Sports, Europe's Transworld Sports, and on The Outdoor Life Network and Resort Sports Network. His major climbing accomplishments over the years have been documented in a series of climbing films, including Rampage, Pilgrimage, and now King Lines.

PRESENTING SPONSOR

The WINDSTOPPER® brand is the proud sponsor of the REEL ROCK Film Tour. Integrally involved with the entire tour, the brand will have an on-site presence at a number of tour locations, engaging in gear give-aways, grassroots exchanges and product demonstrations. WINDSTOPPER® fabric is a technical fabric for outdoor garments and accessories, and an ideal part of any climber's wardrobe.

Our fabrics are engineered for peak performance and total comfort by combining total windproofness and maximum breathability. They give wearers the freedom to perform their best without the distractions of being cold, damp or overheated across a wide range of activities and weather conditions. Developed in 1991 by W. L. Gore & Associates, the inventors of GORE-TEX® fabric, WINDSTOPPER® fabric is used in jackets, pants, gloves and headwear.

More than a single fabric, there is a family of WINDSTOPPER® fabrics that meets the varying needs of backpackers, climbers, cyclists, runners and other active outdoor enthusiasts including Active Shells, Soft Shells, Technical Fleece and Insulated Shells. WINDSTOPPER® fabric is used by leading manufacturers including The North Face, Mountain Hardwear, Marmot, Arc'teryx and Cloudveil.

Photo courtesy of reelrocktour.com

WINDSTOPPER Presents The 2007 REEL ROCK Film Tour

MEDIA SPONSOR

CLIMBING MAGAZINE'S MISSION IS TO INSPIRE PEOPLE TO CLIMB, TO SEEK NEW CHALLENGES, AND TO LEARN ABOUT THE GREAT DIVERSITY OF OUR SPORT.

POWERED BY READER-GENERATED EDITORIAL, AND ACTION SPORTS INSPIRED DESIGN, URBAN CLIMBER MAGAZINE IS THE FASTEST GROWING CLIMBING PUBLICATION.

SPONSORS

PRANA CLOTHING BORN FROM THE EXPERIENCE.

OSPREY TECHNICAL DAY, TRAVEL AND BACKPACKS WITH THE HIGHEST REGARD FORINNOVATIVE DESIGN AND BENCH MARK QUALITY.

PETZL FOR OVER 50 YEARS, INNOVATIVE TOOLS AND TECHNIQUES USED BY THOSEENTERING THE VERTICAL WORLD.

EVOLV CUTTING-EDGE PERFORMANCE CLIMBING SHOES AND HIGH TRACTION FOOTWEAR

Location

Date

Venue

Showtime

More Info.

Ticket Outlets

Encinitas, CA

Weds. 9/5

La Paloma Theatre (www.lapalomatheatre.com)

8pm

Special guests Chris Sharma & Josh Lowell. Presented by PraNa (www.prana.com) & Evolve Sports (www.evolvesports.com).

Click here to buy tickets (tohttp://bouldertheater.frontgatesolutions.com/choose.php?a=1&lid=14657&eid=18768). Also available at the door.

SLC, UT

Weds. 9/5

Tower Theatre

7:30pm

Presented by Petzl (www.petzl.com) & Momentum Climbing (www.momentumclimbing.com). Hosted by Mike Call.

Momentum Climbing (www.momentumclimbing.com) & The Tower Theatre (www.saltlakefilmsociety.org)

Boulder, CO

Weds. 9/5

Boulder Theater (www.bouldertheater.com)

8pm

Friends of Climate Smart. Presented by Vic's & BRC(http://www.totalclimbing.com/page.php), & The Spot (http://www.thespotgym.com/) In person Peter Mortimer.

Boulder Theater(www.bouldertheater.com), BRC(http://www.totalclimbing.com/page.php), & Neptune Mountaineering (http://www.neptunemountaineering.com). CFI (http://www.14ers.org/page.php) benefit.

Telluride, CO

Fri. 9/7

The Sheridan Opera House (http://www.sheridanoperahouse.com/)

8:00pm

Presented by Mountainfilm in Telluride (http://www.mountainfilm.org/support_MF/events/index.asp) & Jagged Edge (link: www.jagged-edge-telluride.com). The Vaudeville Bar will be open

$12 at the door.

Santa Cruz, CA

Fri. 9/7

The Rio Theatre (www.riotheatre.com)

7:30pm

In person Chris Sharma & Josh Lowell. Presented by Pacific Edge (www.pacificedgeclimbinggym.com)

Pacific Edge (www.pacificedgeclimbinggym.com)

San Fran, CA

Sat. 9/8

The Victoria Theatre (www.victoriatheatre.org)

8pm

In person Chris Sharma & Josh Lowell.

Missions Cliffs (http://touchstoneclimbing.com/mc.html) &The Victoria Theatre (www.victoriatheatre.org)

Fort Collins, CO

Mon. 9/10

CSU LORY Student Center (www.sc.colostate.edu)

7:30pm

Presented by CSU Outdoor Adventure Program (campusrec.colostate.edu/default.cfm?goto=Home&ID=5).

LORY Student Center Box Office (www.sc.colostate.edu/boxoffice.aspx)

Golden, CO

Tues. 9/11

Metals Hall (www.mines.edu/Outreach/public/gcevents) CO School of Mines

7pm

Presented by the CO School of Mines Outdoor Recreation Center

Free to the Mines Community (must present a Blastercard), $5 for the community at the door.

Durango, CO

Tues. 9/11

The Abbey Theatre (www.abbeytheatre.com)

6:45pm

Presented by Osprey Packs (www.ospreypacks.com), Backcountry Experience (www.bcexp.com), & SW Adventure Guides (www.mtnguide.net) CFI (http://www.14ers.org/page.php) benefit.

Door only.

Durango, CO

Weds. 9/12

The Abbey Theatre (www.abbeytheatre.com)

6:45pm

Presented by Osprey Packs (www.ospreypacks.com), Backcountry Experience (www.bcexp.com), & SW Adventure Guides (www.mtnguide.net) CFI (http://www.14ers.org/page.php) benefit.

Door only

Arlington, MA

Thurs. 9/13

The Regent Theatre (www.regenttheatre.com)

8pm

Special guests Chris Sharma & Josh Lowell Presented by REI (www.rei.com/stores/80), Metro Rock Gym (www.metrorock.com), & Boston Rock (www.bostonrockgym.com)

The Regent Theatre (www.regenttheatre.com)

Laramie, WY

Fri. 9/14

UW Arts and Sciences Auditorium (www.uwyo.edu)

7pm

Presented by the UW Outdoor Program (http://uwadmnweb.uwyo.edu/Oap/), Cross Country Connection (www.crosscountryconnection.com) & The Fat Crack Festival ~ an Access Fund ( www.accessfund.org) benefit.

Free Show!

S. Lake Tahoe, CA

Fri. 9/14

Lake Tahoe Community College Theatre (www.ltcc.edu)

7pm

Presented by Tahoe Adventure Film Festival (www.laketahoefilmfestival.com).

Door only

Anchorage, AK

Fri. 9/14

Bear Tooth Theatrepub (www.beartooththeatre.net)

7:45pm

Presented by AMH (http://www.alaskamountaineering.com/) & AK Rock Gym (http://www.alaskarockgym.com/index.js)

Bear Tooth Theatrepub (www.beartooththeatre.net)

Anchorage, AK

Sat. 9/15

Bear Tooth Theatrepub (www.beartooththeatre.net)

7:45pm

Presented by AMH (http://www.alaskamountaineering.com/) & AK Rock Gym (http://www.alaskarockgym.com/index.js)

Bear Tooth Theatrepub (www.beartooththeatre.net)

Lander, WY

Sat. 9/15

Lander Valley High School Auditorium

7pm

Presented by Elemental Training Center (www.elementaltraining.com) & Wild Iris Mtn. Sports (www.wildirisclimbing.com)

Wild Iris Mtn. Sports (www.wildirisclimbing.com)

Gunnison, CO

Thurs. 9/20

Kebler Ballroom, Western State College (http://www.western.edu/)

7pm

Preseneted by WS Wilderness Pursuits (www.western.edu/wp/)

$5 at the door. Raffle to benefit CFI (http://www.14ers.org/page.php).

Asheville, NC

Thurs. 9/20

Asheville Pizza & Brewing Company (www.ashevillepizza.com)

9:30pm

Presented by Black Dome Mtn. Sports (www.blackdome.com)

Crested Butte, CO

Fri. 9/21

The Majestic Theatre (www.cbmajestic.net)

7:30pm

Bend, OR

Sat. 9/22

Smith Rock Detour (www.smithrockdetour07.com)

9pm

Presented by PodClimber (www.podclimber.com) & The Smith Rock Detour (www.smithrockdetour07.com) -- 9137 NE Crooked River Drive Terrebonne

ClimbMax Mountaineering (www.climbmaxmountaineering.com) & at the show.

Berkeley, CA

Weds. 9/26

Pyramid Brewery (http://www.pyramidbrew.com/alehouses/berkeley.php) - Board Room

8pm

Please come early for dinner ~ no food service during the program.

Touchstone Ironworks (http://touchstoneclimbing.com/bi.html)

Berkeley, CA

Thurs. 9/27

Pyramid Brewery (http://www.pyramidbrew.com/alehouses/berkeley.php) - Board Room

8pm

Please come early for dinner ~ no food service during the program.

Touchstone Ironworks (http://touchstoneclimbing.com/bi.html)

Flagstaff, AZ

Thurs. 9/27

The Orpheum Theatre (www.orpheumpresents.com)

8pm

Presented by Vertical Relief (www.verticalrelief.com)

Missoula, MT

Thurs. 9/27

Urey Underground Lecture Hall (www.umt.edu/accessmap/buildings/UREY.HTM)

7pm

Presented by UM Outdoor Program (www.umt.edu/SA/crec/index.cfm/page/984)

Yosemite, CA

Thurs. 9/27

Yosemite Lodge Ampitheater

7pm

Prsented by the Yosemite Face Lift and The Yosemite Climbers' Association http (www.Yosemiteclimbing.org)

Door only

NYC, NY

Fri. 9/28

MPHC Climbing Gym (www.mphc.com/facilities/fac-climbing.html)

8pm

Presented by MPHC Climbing Gym (www.mphc.com/facilities/fac-climbing.html)

Boise, ID

Fri. 9/28

Boise State Special Events Center (www.boisestate.edu)

7pm

Presented by Boise State Outdoor Program (http://rec.boisestate.edu/outdoor)

Jackson, WY

Fri. 9/28

The playmill Theatre (http://www.playmilljackson.com/)

TBA

TBA

TBA

Colorado Springs, CO

TBA

Armstrong Hall, CO College (www.coloradocollege.edu/welcome/tour/Armstrong.asp)

Presented by Colorado College Climbing Association (www.coloradocollege.edu)

Bozeman, MT

Fri. 9/28

The Emerson Center for the Arts & Culture(www.theemerson.org)

7:30pm

Presented by Northern Lights Trading Company(www.northernlightstrading.com) & Barrel Mountaineering (www.barrelmountaineering.com)

Northern Lights Trading Company(www.northernlightstrading.com) & Barrel Mountaineering (www.barrelmountaineering.com)

Walnut Creek, CA

Thurs. 10/4

Pyramid Brewery (http://www.pyramidbrew.com/alehouses/berkeley.php) - Diablo Room

8pm

Door only

Las Vegas, NV

Fri.10/5

Clark County Library

7pm

Presented by the Clark County Library (www.LVCCLD.org)

Free Show!

Waynesboro, VA

Fri. 10/5

Spilman Auditorium, Waynesboro High School

7pm

Presented by Waynesboro Dept. of Parks and Recreation (www.waynesboro.va.us/pr.html)

Rockfish Gap Outfitters & Blue Ridge Mountain Sports (www.brmsstore.com)

New Paltz, NY

Sat. 10/6

Studley Theatre (SUNY) (www.newpaltz.edu/map/loc_om.html)

7:30pm

Presented by The New Paltz Climbing Film Festival (www.chestnutmtnproductions.com)

Hanover, NH

Tues. 10/9

Dartmouth College (www.dartmouth.edu)

7:30pm

Filene Auditorium

Portland, OR

Thurs. 10/11

Hollywood Theatre (www.hollywoodtheatre.org)

7pm

Presented by ClimbMax Mountaineering (www.climbmaxmountaineering.com) & Mazama Climbing Club (www.mazamas.org)

ClimbMax Mountaineering (www.climbmaxmountaineering.com

Leadville, CO

Fri. 10/12

Colorado Moutain College (www.coloradocollege.edu)

TBA

Slade, KY

Fri. 10/12

Red River Outdooors (www.redriveroutdoors.com)

Dusk

Presented by Petzl Roc Trip 2007 (www.petzl.com) & Rocktoberfest (http://www.rrgcc.org) Special guest Chris Sharma.

San Luis Obispo, CA

Fri. 10/12

The Palm Theatre (http://www.thepalmtheatre.com/)

TBA

Presented by Vista Cerro Productions (www.vistacerro.com)

Eugene, OR

Thurs. 10/18

177 Lawrence Hall, U of O (www.uoregon.edu)

7pm

Presented by UO Outdoor Program (www.outdoorprogram.uoregon.edu)

Nashville, TN

Tues. 10/23

The Belcourt Theatre (www.belcourt.org)

7:30pm

Presented by Climb Nashville (www.climbnashville.com). An Access Fund (www.accessfund.org)& Southeastern Climbers' Coalition benefir.

Climb Nashville (www.climbnashville.com) & at the door.

Baltimore, MD

Fri. 10/26

Chatanooga, TN

Sat. 10/27

Rock Creek Outfitters (http://www.rockcreek.com/customer_service/locations.asp)

7:30pm

Presented by the AAC (http://www.americanalpineclub.org) Rock /Creek Outfitters(http://www.rockcreek.com/customer_service/locations.asp) & Chattanooga on the Rocks.

Please call Rock/ Creek at 423-265-5969

Seattle, WA

TBA

Spokane, WA

TBA

Birmingham, AL

TBA

Austin, TX

TBA

CANADA

Squamish, BC

Sat. 9/1

The Eagle Eye Theatre in the Howe Sound School

8pm

Presented by the Squamish Mountain Festival (www.squamishfilm.com).

Valhalla Pure (www.vpo.ca/index.php?fid=stores&sid=printresults&detailid=6&Anzahl=17&start=0) & Climb On

Edmonton, AB

Weds. 9/5

Zeidler Hall in the Citadel Theatre (www.citadeltheatre.com)

19h30

Presented by MEC (www.mec.ca)

MEC Edmonton (www.mec.ca)

Canmore, AB

Thurs. 9/13

Canmore Dinner Theatre (www.ohcanadaeh.com)

19h30

Presented by GreenHat Productions (greenhatp@hotmail.com)

Canmore Valhalla Pure Outfitters (www.vpo.com)

Calgary, AB

Fri. 9/14

Borris Roubakine Hall, U of Calgary (www.ucalgary.ca)

20h00

Presented by GreenHat Productions (greenhatp@hotmail.com)

Chinook & Strong Hold Climbing Gyms (www.calgaryclimbing.com)

Vancouver, BC

Thurs. 9/20

The Ridge Theatre (www.sitegeist.com/ridge/index.html)

19h00

Presented by GreenHat Productions (greenhatp@hotmail.com)

Cliffhanger Coquitlam (www.cliffhangerclimbing.com/coquitlam)

Saskatoon, SK

Weds. 9/26

Broadway Theatre (www.broadwaytheatre.ca)

19h00

Presented by GreenHat Productions (greenhatp@hotmail.com)

Vic's Vertical Climbing Gym (www.vicsverticalwalls.ca)

Winnipeg, MB

Fri. 9/28

Eckhardt-Grammatte Hall, U of Winnipeg (www.uwinnipeg.ca)

20h00

Presented by GreenHat Productions (greenhatp@hotmail.com)

Vertical Adventures Climbing Gym (www.climbva.com)

Halifax, NS

Weds. 10/3

Alderney Landing (www.alderneylanding.com)

19h30

Presented by GreenHat Productions (greenhatp@hotmail.com)

Ground Zero Climbing Gym ph. 902-468-8788

Toronto, ON

Tues. 10/9

Innis Town Hall, U of Toronto (www.utoronto.ca/townhall)

19h30

Presented by GreenHat Productions (greenhatp@hotmail.com)

Joe's Rock Head Climbing Gym (www.joerockheads.com)

Toronto, ON

Thurs. 10/11

Innis Town Hall, U of Toronto (www.utoronto.ca/townhall)

19h30

Presented by GreenHat Productions (greenhatp@hotmail.com)

Joe's Rock Head Climbing Gym (www.joerockheads.com)

Ottawa, ON

Fri. 10/12

Auditorium des Anciens, U of Ottawa (www.uottawa.ca)

20h00

Presented by GreenHat Productions (greenhatp@hotmail.com)

Coyote Rock Climbing Gym (www.coyoterockgym.ca)

Montreal, QC

Thurs. 10/18

U of Montreal (www.umontreal.ca)

19h30

Presented by GreenHat Productions (greenhatp@hotmail.com)

Action Directe Climbing Gym (www.actiondirecte.qc.ca) & AllezUP Climbing Gym (www.allezup.com)

Montreal, QC

Fri. 10/19

U of Montreal (www.umontreal.ca)

20h00

Presented by GreenHat Productions (greenhatp@hotmail.com)

Action Directe Climbing Gym (www.actiondirecte.qc.ca) & AllezUP Climbing Gym (www.allezup.com)

INTERNATIONAL

Presented by GreenHat Productions (greenhatp@hotmail.com)

Cape Town, South Africa

Fri. 9/28

CityROCK Gym

7pm

presented by City Rock (www.cityrock.co.za)

Durban, South Africa

Weds. 10/3

MCSA KZN Hall

7pm

Johannesburg, South Africa

Weds. 10/17

MCSA Waverley Hall

7pm

Johannesburg, South Africa

Thurs. 10/18

MCSA Waverley Hall

7pm

Kenesaw, GA

Bishop, CA

Mill Creek Station

Birmingham, AL

Most Popular